Administration Office

Administration Office
Welcome to the Administration offices of the City of Hagerstown. The Administration office consists of the Mayor and City Council, City Administrator and City Clerk.

The Mayor is the chief executive officer of the city and is responsible for the execution of city policies, laws and resolutions. The Mayor serves a four-year term.

City Council
The City Council represents the citizens and voices the public’s opinions when setting policies, laws and resolutions. Since 1985, all members have been elected “at large” encouraging the council’s responsibility to all citizens regarding of specific ward. Members serve a four-year term.

City Administrator
The Mayor and City Council appoint the city administrator to serve as the chief administrative officer of the city. The city administrator receives direction from the Mayor and council and is responsible for the day to day management of city operations as assigned under the city's charter. The city operates a full-service government under the council manager form of municipal government, which was established by adoption of the city's charter in 1983. Hagerstown is also recognized as a Home Rule municipality by the State of Maryland.

City Clerk
The City Clerk serves as the record-keeping officer for the Mayor and council and is responsible for the preparation, execution, and archiving of all City Council documents as prescribed by State law and City Code.