News Flash


Posted on: July 29, 2020

City Announces Newest HYAC Members

The City of Hagerstown is excited to announce the selected area students for the 2020-2021 Hagerstown Youth Advisory Council (HYAC). The students include:

  • Kevin Bokoum, North Hagerstown High School
  • Hailey Melendez Olivero, North Hagerstown High School
  • Blessing Moses, South Hagerstown High School
  • Eden Teodorovici, North Hagerstown High School

These students will join the remaining five members of the inaugural council to form a nine-member council.

The City has also selected Summer Seaward to serve on the council in a non-voting position reserved for 18-21 year olds. Summer will begin her undergraduate studies at Hood College this fall.

Each of the selected students will serve either a one-year or two-year term following their swearing-in.

A call for applications was advertised in March 2020 and during the month-long application cycle the City received fifteen applications to the council.

Created as a way to expand youth involvement in local government, the HYAC’s primary focus is to provide a voice and public platform for youth in Hagerstown. The selected participants will work alongside city staff and other community partners to tackle issues that matter to today’s youth. Meeting frequency will be determined by the selected youth and each individual will have the opportunity to earn SSL hours for their work on the council.

“It is encouraging that so many students want to get involved in local government and help to provide a voice for the youth in Hagerstown,” said Hagerstown City Councilmember Shelley McIntire. “I am very proud of the selected students for the Youth Advisory Council and I look forward to working with them on issues in our City where they are most passionate. It is important that we listen and work to understand how we can better engage our current youth and how the City of Hagerstown can try and prepare for future generations.”

Any questions or concerns about the Hagerstown Youth Advisory Council can be forwarded to city staff at 301-739-8577 ext. 820 or

Facebook Twitter Email