Hagerstown Youth Council

Click here to sign up for Charge for Change- 3k/Fun Run and After Party
April 6th, 2024 10:00am-2:00pm @ Fairgrounds Park- Free to attend!

Screenshot 2024-02-07 100532
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6

About the Hagerstown Youth Council

The Hagerstown Youth Council was established by the Hagerstown Mayor and City Council to give Hagerstown youth the ability to provide feedback and recommendations regarding community policies and programs that affect their future and to take a leadership role in creating meaningful change.  Members of the Youth Council will have the opportunity to raise their voices and share their experiences with local dignitaries, agencies, and other youth as well as participate in other fun activities like selecting the City's downtown Christmas Tree or planning an Earth Day event.

In order to serve on the Hagerstown Youth Council youth must meet the below qualifications:

  • Be a resident of the City of Hagerstown or attend a public/private high school or home-school located in the City of Hagerstown;
  • Be currently enrolled in either an accredited public or private high school or home-school; and,
  • Be entering the ninth, tenth, eleventh, or twelfth grade at the beginning of council program year.

Hagerstown Youth Councilmembers (2023-2024)

  • Ana Simmons, South Hagerstown High School
  • Joseph Fox, South Hagerstown High School
  • Jessica Ramos, South Hagerstown High School
  • Nicolas Martinez-Martell, North Hagerstown High School
  • Shradha Bista, North Hagerstown High School
  • Zander Hine, North Hagerstown High School
  • Brianna Mathews, North Hagerstown High School
  • Naomi Kandrick, North Hagerstown High School
  • Aniya Russell, North Hagerstown/ Boyd. J Michael III Technical High School
  • Crystal Dominguez, North Hagerstown High School
  • Alleiana Orndorff, Barbara Ingram School for the Arts
  • Joanna Leedy, Barbara Ingram School for the Arts
  • Torin Malott, Barbara Ingram School for the Arts
  • Olivia Yamashita, Barbara Ingram School for the Arts
  • Louis Maciulla, St. Maria Goretti Catholic High School
  • Allen Anderson, St. Maria Goretti Catholic High School
  • Zoe Burnett, Grace Academy
  • Dharma Lara, Homeschool

2023-2024 Meeting Schedule

All meetings of the Hagerstown Youth Council are held at the BuroBox. 60 W. Washington Street, Hagerstown, MD 21740 unless otherwise noted.  All meetings are open to the public, however, public attendees may not have the opportunity to participate in the meeting.  Meetings will typically be held on the first and third Monday of each month unless the third Monday is a holiday. 

Additional Information/Questions

Any questions regarding the Hagerstown Youth Council can be forwarded to Rachel Paul at the Department of Community and Economic Development at rpaul@hagerstownmd.org or 301-739-8577 ext. 820.

Thank you to our event sponsors!


Youth Council Application

Partner Group

The Hagerstown Youth Council is looking for three to five adults to serve as mentors for the next cohort of the Council! 

All members of the HYC Partner Group must be affiliated with, employed by, or serve as a board member for one of the following groups: 

  • Non-profit with a mission/function related to youth development/education/wellness/housing 
  • Non-profit with a mission related to community diversity/culture
  • Washington County Board of Education

Questions? Contact Rachel Paul at rpaul@hagerstownmd.org

Partner Group Application