Meet the City Council

Council Duties

The City Council is the City's legislative body, with the power to enact and enforce all ordinances and resolutions. There are five members who are elected at-large and serve all voters of the City of Hagerstown for a four-year term.

The Council act only by ordinance, resolution or motion. They adopt and may alter the annual budget and confirm the Mayor's appointments. Council is responsible for the appropriation and issuance of bonds, the awarding of contracts and the approval of City expenditures over $10,000. Council determines its own rules of procedure, and its meetings are open to the public.

Councilmember Kristin B. Aleshire

KRISTIN B. ALESHIRE, a native of Hagerstown, previously served 10 years on City Council and one term as Washington County Commissioner. He is a 1996 graduate of Hagerstown Community College and a 1998 graduate of Salisbury State University.  Kristin is the Town Manager for the Town of Myersville in Frederick County, Maryland.  During his time in public office, he has served on numerous boards and commissions.  He is also active with a number of local civic groups.  Mr. Aleshire resides in the southern end of Hagerstown with his wife Tenneille and their five children. 

Councilmember Kristin Aleshire

Councilmember Paul Corderman

Councilmember Emily Keller

EMILY KELLER is serving her first term as Councilmember.  She is the owner-operator of the Emily Keller Agency- Farmers Insurance. Born and raised in Hagerstown, Emily is a 2004 graduate of South Hagerstown High School and is the proud mother of her 9 year old daughter, Layla. She is active throughout the community, serving as the Community Advocacy Chairman within the Hagerstown Chamber of Commerce GenNext Committee, member of the Sun-Rise Rotary-Hagerstown, and a team leader in Washington County’s Relay for Life. She has a personal vested interested in advocating for small business owners as an Agency Owner herself and a Hagerstown Council Member. She extenders her influence as a member of Farmers Employees Agents Political Action Committee (FEAPAC), an advocacy organization that protects the interest of small business owners.


Councilmember Donald F. Munson

DONALD F. MUNSON is serving his first term as a councilmember.  Mr. Munson’s love for politics began at an early age.  In 1953-1955 he was appointed as a Page for DeWitt S. Hyde in the United States House of Representatives.  In 1968, he received a BS in mathematics from Johns Hopkins University.  In 1975 he won the seat in the House of Delegates for District 2, representing Washington County.  He won reelection three times before running and winning a seat in the State Senate in 1990. He has served on numerous committees including the Budget and Taxation Committee, the Joint Committee on Federal Relations, the Rules Committee, the Joint Committee on Legislative Ethics, and the Joint Commission on the Maryland Port Administration, to name a few.  Additionally, he received many awards including Legislator of the Year from the Maryland Retailers Association in 2003, Outstanding Rural Legislator Award from the Rural Maryland Council in 2004, and the John O. Marsh, Jr. Public Service Award from Shenandoah University in 2004.
Councilmember Don Munson

Additional Information

Contacting the Mayor and members of the City Council is both easy and convenient. You may call, write, or email as follows:
City of Hagerstown
One East Franklin Street
Second Floor, City Hall
Hagerstown, MD 21740
Phone: (301) 766-4175
Click here to Email the Mayor
Click here to Email all City Councilmembers